Andre Onana gets second yellow card against Coventry, but the Man United goalkeeper avoided a red card due to little-known rule

2 minutes read
  • Andre Onana avoided a red card despite being booked twice against Coventry


Andre Onana received a second yellow card during Manchester United’s penalty shootout victory over Coventry on Sunday – but he was not sent off.

The Cameroonian goalkeeper was initially cautioned in the 85th minute for delaying the restart from a goal-kick, when Coventry were trying to find an equaliser at 3-2.

He was also booked in the penalty shootout for arguing with the referee Robert Jones – but he was able to stay on the pitch.


IFAB rule 10.3 states that bookings picked up during the regulation match are not carried through to penalty shootouts – but players who pick up a red card cannot return to be involved. 

It also means that Onana will not be suspended for the FA Cup final against rivals Manchester City on May 25.

The little-known rule gained attention recently on Thursday evening, when Aston Villa’s Emi Martinez avoided a red card against Lille in the Europa Conference League. Martinez has been suspended for Villa’s Conference League semi-final, but, as the FA Cup has different rules, Onana will be available.


Manchester United defeated Coventry City 4-2 in a penalty shootout, but only after letting a three goal lead slip away in the final 20 minutes of the game. 

Manchester City await in the final on May 25, which will be a repeat of last year’s showpiece, which was won by Pep Guardiola’s side as part of their treble season. 


Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.